Skip to content

thankful book

November 16, 2009

Dear everyone,

This is a Monday morning party, and you’re all invited.  Despite my husband’s eye rolls and mocking.

Dare to DIY

Because we had a really busy weekend and lots of productivity was achieved.  And then I sat down at my computer, read my google reader and remembered that I mentioned I’d join Kim @ NewlyWoodward’s holiday DIY party.  Because it sounded like fun, and also?  It’s a great thing to motivate me to do fun holiday crafts and whatnot.  Because I’ve come to terms with the fact that if it weren’t for this blog, I probably would spend my days in my pjs, watching TLC.  Oh wait.  Hmm.  I do that anyways.

Moving on to crafts! Thanksgiving crafts! This week is officially “Dare to… Be Thankful!” week, and J and I are really thankful for lots of things.  Like jobs and dogs and fuzzy socks and that we survived Day 1 of deer hunting season unscathed, despite Jezebel’s mid-morning breakaway sprint into the woods.  Yikes.

So my craft for today is a Thankful Journal.  It is not mind-blowing, or difficult, or complicated.  It can be done in 20 minutes on a Sunday night.

I LOVE traditions.  Love them.  And after we were married last October, I started looking for fun new traditions that J and I could start with our own family.  One of those traditions was a Thankful Journal, to be written in on Thanksgiving by all who you share the holiday with (I found the idea here).  Basically, on Turkey Day, everyone writes down a little somethin-somethin they’re thankful for.  I thought this tradition would be especially fun and doable for us since our families don’t live near us – or each other – and we spend Thanksgiving with a different set of relatives in a different part of the country each year.

When I came across this idea last fall, I didn’t have time to actually make a journal, so instead, I harassed my family to write what they were thankful for on a piece of paper.  They thought I was a little nuts, I’m sure.  And some of them took the assignment a little more serious than others.

Then again, I guess the First Law of Thermodynamics is something that we should all be thankful for.

Anyways, upon reading Kim’s blog, I remembered that I wanted a pretty Thankful Journal.  Luckily, I had a not-as-pretty blank journal in one of my office drawers.

I pulled the embellishments off of the front, and replaced them with my own Thanksgiving-themes embellishments.  (And then I put last year’s Thankful notes in the journal.  See, family?  I am not completely off my rocker!)

And it’s a pretty little addition to my coffee table, not to mention a fun reminder of who we’ve spent the holidays with!

Now all I have to do is remember to bring it with us on our Thanksgiving 2009 excursion and hope that the in-laws will play along!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 9:34 am

    I love how you repurposed an old journal. The new look is great, and it will be a lovely thing to look back on in the future! Great job!

  2. November 16, 2009 10:01 am

    Okay… that is ADORABLE. Now, I want a Thankful Journal. Although, when we went around the table last year for Thanksgiving (at my mother-in-laws urging), we ended up with lots of goofy political thankfuls, which my hubby and his brother knew would drive their mom crazy. Haha…. still funny to remember.

    Thanks for joining in. =) I’m glad you remembered.

  3. November 16, 2009 10:19 am

    That is such a neat idea! We will have to make one and start the tradition this year. I also really love the way you used an old, plain journal and made it your own. Thanks for the great inspiration!

  4. November 16, 2009 11:29 am

    Really nice, and thoughtful, too! I love the journal version of sharing thanks–it takes away the pressure of coming up with something when going around the dinner table!

    P.S. I’m glad my husband isn’t the only one rolling his eyes and shaking his head in disbelief!

  5. November 16, 2009 6:26 pm

    Sweet project! And your journal is adorable 🙂

  6. Debbie permalink
    November 16, 2009 7:16 pm

    We will join in! First, I’ll start by saying I’m thankful you’ll be with us for the holiday.

    • November 17, 2009 12:10 am

      Yay! I’m thankful that you’ll play along! 🙂 Can’t wait to see you guys!

Leave a Reply

