Skip to content

staircase photo collage

November 13, 2009

I *finally* finished printing photos and putting them in the frames that I had hung (almost a month ago!) over our staircase last night, so I thought I’d show them off today.  I chose a mix of different black frames, black or off-white mats, and color, b&w, and sepia-toned photos.  The color and B&W pictures are from our wedding, and we mixed in sepia-toned pictures of our parents and grandparents on their respective wedding days.  I’m pretty happy with how it all came together.

Here’s what the staircase looked like before (with the previous owners’ photos):

And here she is now:

We ripped out the carpet in May, and there’s still a few pesky, hard to pull out carpet staples left.  I think this is one of those projects that neither Jason nor I tackle because we’re both secretly *hoping* that the other person will do it.

It’s incredibly hard to capture all of the frames in the same photo.  It looks like they’re at an awkward height here, but I assure you they’re not.

See?  Here’s the view from the dining room:

To hang these, I laid out the frames on the floor and played around until I liked how they look.  Then, I started hanging pictures, starting in the middle of the staircase and working my way up/down.  I know that it’s recommended that you use a taped piece of paper to mark things off on the wall, but I just don’t have the patience for that.  I really like it for now, but would love to add in some more ornate frames or maybe even a few oval frames.

Anyone else sporting the over-the-staircase photo collage?  Does it make you smile every time you walk up or down the stairs, too?

Check out other awesome staircases here!


9 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Tami permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:08 pm

    The hall looks great. I like the black frames with the rest of your decor.

    As far as hunting season and deer-colored dogs…there are blaze orange vests you can buy for dogs or you could get several thick blaze orange ribbons to tie on their collars. We make sure to wear wild colors if we go out for a walk at the cabin at this time of year. It is quite the fashion parade, but it can’t hurt and is worth it if it helps!

  2. Debbie permalink
    November 13, 2009 3:59 pm

    The stairs look great! Each time I see pictures, it makes me want to visit even more. Can’t wait to see you next week!

  3. November 14, 2009 10:46 am

    It looks great! I also love the stairs without the carpet! 🙂

  4. November 15, 2009 3:38 pm

    The pictures look amazing! I love the idea! You may have inspired me to take on a similar project 🙂 I hope your “deer colored” doggies make it through the season…Although they are so cute I think it would be hard to mistake them for deer.

    It is good to know Mr. B and I aren’t the only ones who make up “pre-adoption” stories about our resuce dog! We have been debating whether or not to go for it and do the DNA testing but it has been two years since her adoption and it would be nice to have an answer when people ask us what kind of dog she is :).

    Have a great rest of your Sunday!

  5. November 15, 2009 9:08 pm

    I am so jealous of your stairway! You did a great job with the collage. Someday I will have the guts to do this. Until then, it is bare white wall staring at me every time I go up or down…

  6. November 17, 2009 9:39 am

    awesome job with the pictures!! I love that idea.
    Have a blast in NY
    and please post pictures –
    I can’t wait to go!

  7. November 18, 2009 3:37 pm

    Fantastic! Your photo collage looks great and the wood is such an improvement over the carpet. Thanks for linking up!

  8. November 30, 2009 11:51 am

    I love the photo collage. It looks great! My staircase is patiently waiting for some pics.

Trackbacks

  1. Staircase Recap and a WINNER! | Home Stories A to Z

Leave a Reply

