Skip to content

the downstairs hallway

November 5, 2009

This has sort of turned into an impromptu “hallway week” so I’m going to roll with it and show you the rest of our first floor hallway.  Thrilling, I know.  (Okay, actually, I am a little thrilled about it because we’ve actually hung up pictures in almost every room in the house.  We haven’t seen some of these pictures/frames since 2006 – we never really got around to hanging pictures in our last two homes before it was time to move on…  Anyways, the hanging of the pictures is making me feel like this is really *home* and it’s a happy feeling.)

Here’s a view of the hallway from the back of the house.  You can see our little landing strip up near the door.

I love this picture of a hallway with a whole bunch of mirrors, and would love to do that in my own house.  Our hallway is so dark, that a few big and strategically placed mirrors might help reflect a little bit of light around here.  On the other hand, do I really need to check myself out while I’m wandering the house in my pj’s all day?  Maybe I don’t want that reminder that I’ve been wrestling dogs and not brushing my hair.  Hmm.  Will have to think about that.  What do you think?  Are all of these mirrors cool or creepy?

From Design*Sponge

For now, we just hung some silver picture frames and small mirrors – because that’s what we had already. But I’m not sure they’ll stay forever.

I took pictures of the dogs’ profiles and used photoshop to turn them into little doggy silhouettes.  And I love them.

Also, note the positioning of the mirror in the above picture.  Mirrors should always reflect something pretty, right?  Like the view out the kitchen window.  Mirrors should certainly NOT reflect ugly things… like last night’s dinner mess that someone didn’t clean up yet.

The little picture trio in the front of the house is nothing really to write home about… a few black and white photos of our trip to Hawaii in 2004, and another mirror reflecting the photo goodness on the wall behind it (more on that tomorrow).  Again, the mirror reflects pretty stuff (and not the mess on the steps that I moved to take the picture.  Looks like I’ve got some cleaning to do today!).

So that’s our little hallway… made more homey with pictures.  Yep, it finally feels like we’re getting settled in here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. japortma permalink
    November 5, 2009 4:33 pm

    hmm, I like the pictures in the hallway, its a really cool look. However, personally I would get totally freaked out, but I am a HUGE chicken when it comes to scary things. haha!!

  2. mom permalink
    November 6, 2009 12:32 am

    uh-oh, you are becoming like a creepy cat-lady….silhouette pictures of your dogs like we have of you and Ashley from Disneyworld? In that case, I have an awesome sweatshirt for you; it has pictures of all the dog breeds on it. I’m sure you will love it as much as those dogs!!!

    PS: Give Jezebear a kiss for me. 😉

  3. November 6, 2009 6:24 pm

    I love the mirrors, I think it’s really glam but light and airy!

Leave a Reply

