Skip to content

Happy (early) Halloween!

October 30, 2009

I thought I’d sign off for the weekend with a picture of our only remaining halloween display – the pumpkins we carved during our trip to the farm with J’s brother, sister-in-law, and our niece and nephew.  I’ve always carved a pumpkin for Halloween, and even though there are tons of pretty pictures of painted or otherwise glammed up pumpkins floating around on the web, I couldn’t do it.  I had to stick with my elementary rendition of a jack-o-lantern, made possible by my lack of control with a carving knife.

The moral of the story is that I *heart* holiday traditions.  Even if a third-grader could have done a better job.

We did learn a new carving trick this year, though: instead of making a hole at the top of the pumpkin, cut out the bottom of the pumpkin.  It’s much easier to get the guts out, and you don’t have to worry about the pesky lid on your pumpkin rotting away and falling in.  When it’s time to light the candle inside the pumpkin, simply life up your jack-o-lantern, light the candle, and put the pumpkin back down over it.  (My pumpkin – on the right – was done using this method.  Jason’s – on the left – was not).

(On a side note: remember that halloween candy-filled centerpiece?  Ha!  What a joke. I think it lasted a week.)

We’re planning on a low-key weekend.  J will be watching the world series (he’s a huge Phillies fan), and I will likely be making photo Christmas cards for a few -ahem- clients, and writing a book chapter that I should have written a long time ago.  And, if we’re lucky, and the weather is nice, we might even get to clean up some of the fall mess that is plaguing our yard.  Thrilling, I know!  🙂

Hope you all have a spooky Halloween!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 11:47 am

    Love the idea of putting the whole on the bottom. We are carving our pumpkins tomorrow and I think I will use this handy little tip!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Kate

  2. Debbie permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:18 pm

    Clients? Do tell!
    The pumpkins look cute! Typically traditional!

    • October 30, 2009 2:09 pm

      Well, okay… “clients” = my mom and grandma! Maybe I should have disclosed that earlier? 🙂 I could probably take on a few more orders for free card designing (and I have a cheap online printing place – they did some things for my wedding and our Christmas cards last year), if you’re interested, just let me know… 🙂

  3. October 30, 2009 1:32 pm

    Well, the centerpiece was beautiful!! Did someone eat it? I love the suggestion of cutting the pumpkin open on the bottom. Then you don’t have to put your hand in through the top and risk getting gooed each time you put a candle in! Plus, I bet it sits better.

    • November 3, 2009 11:30 am

      I totally ate ALL of it. Oops. Lesson learned: candy that sits in front of me gets eaten.

  4. October 30, 2009 1:40 pm

    Well aren’t you too clever? Love the idea of how to cut the pumpkin. Too bad we just carved ours on Wednesday. 🙂 Maybe next year! I agree…don’t give up on tradition!

  5. GGG permalink
    October 30, 2009 3:05 pm

    I wish sombody would carve me a pumpkin!

  6. October 30, 2009 3:48 pm

    LOVE the jack o lanterns!

  7. mom permalink
    October 30, 2009 8:31 pm

    I love that you love traditions! Those caramel/chocolate/peanut butter/toffee apples were yummy!!! I am shopping for elastic pants tomorrow…

    • October 30, 2009 11:44 pm

      Yeah, no kidding. After making such a big deal about taking some to the neighbors, I decided that they didn’t look nice enough to take over, and plus, I bet the neighbors don’t let their kids eat candy anyways? Right? Ha! That means I’ve eaten at least 20 of them in the past month. Thank goodness it’s sweater and pants season!

  8. October 31, 2009 10:50 am

    love your pumpkins!!!
    enjoy your weekend

  9. November 3, 2009 6:38 am

    Great pumpkins – and you definitely win the “pretty Pumpkin” award – great tip too.

    Thanks so much for the sweets you brought over to us on your trip. The kids had great fun telling all their friends who came Trick-or-Treating that this was specially from America, and what the Americans eat at Halloween!

    It was quite different from how I expected it – the corn candy was softer and “fudgier” – for some reason I anticipated a more hard sweet – like a lollipop. Did not last too long here.

    The peeps are perhaps an acquired taste – we still have a few left!!!

    Thanks again for such a thoughtful gift. I am sure your Irish trip now seems so long ago.

    • November 3, 2009 11:36 am

      So glad the kids enjoyed them! I think the peeps are definitely an acquired taste – our Swedish roommate (she lived with us last year) agreed!

      If you still have some, you can microwave them for 5-15 sec and they will grow. Or, I like to leave them out and let them harden for a few days before eating them. If you google image search “peeps” you can check out some of the dioramas people have made with the fluffy little guys – some of them are really good!

Leave a Reply

