Skip to content

fall cleanup

October 27, 2009

As I mentioned last week, brother Robby came to help with household chores over the weekend, and he brought my mom, brother Trevor, and their dog Comet.  It rained all day Saturday, but the dogs had fun destroying stuffed animals and antagonizing each other, while Trevor painted the closet, I finished up some trim painting, Jason built doors for our compost bin, and my mom scraped paint off of the windows that I painted several months ago.  I’ve been staring at the painted windows, dreading scraping them off, so I was so thankful that my mom dug right in and got most of them done!

Sunday was a beautiful fall day, and we let the dogs out to play.  I took a few photos of their doggy cuteness, but it is really difficult to get 3 dogs to sit and stay at the same time (especially since Jezebel hasn’t been trained to stay yet).  The dogs played together pretty well, and it will be interesting to see how these three get along when Jezzie is full grown (our vet suggested last week that she’ll likely be 60 lbs as an adult).

We put brother Robby to work cleaning out the gutters – a huge job considering that I found about 2-3″ of dirt in most of the gutters.  Plants were growing out of some of them, and I think Rob found a toad living in one section of gutters.  Since this was another task that I was absolutely dreading, I was thrilled for the help.

I have yet to mention here that the trees surrounding our house have exploded in color.  There’s a golden glow coming from the woods that is distinctly fall.  And the smell and temperatures here are also perfectly fall.  I love it!

Unfortunately, all of the fall beauty on the trees is quickly translating into a whole bunch of leafy mess on the ground.  As soon as things dry out around here, Jason is going to mow the lawn and we’ll leave the broken up leaf matter on the grass.  But the driveway?  Trevor got creative and pulled a snow shovel from the garage to remove the leaves from the driveway.  Truthfully, it may be a bit futile to even bother getting rid of the leaves on the driveway since it’s already covered in leaves again today, but it was sweet of him to help.  (If any one has tips on how to remove leaves from our house in the forest, I’d love to hear them).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 1:48 pm

    Simple: leaf blower 🙂

  2. October 27, 2009 3:50 pm

    Leaf blower X 2…. get the one that will suck them up and grind them a bit and bag them. Then you have composting layers of non smelly organic stuff.

Leave a Reply

