Skip to content

I *heart* faces – excited!

October 13, 2009

This week’s theme over at I *heart* faces is excited.  Truthfully, I had a hard time finding a picture that accurately displayed this emotion, but in the end, here’s what I came up with.

katie1

This is my friend (and former coworker), Katie, on her birthday.  She was pretty darn excited when the waitress brought out a flaming dessert just for her!

I took this picture with a high ISO, so it’s a little grainy, but fading the color to give it sort of a vintage-y look seemed to reduce some of the grainy look of the photo.  Does anyone have tips/resources for reducing ISO-induced grain in photoshop?

Head on over to I *heart* faces to check out a bunch of other Excited! photos!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 11:32 am

    Have you tried the unsharpen mask (filter->sharpen->unsharpen mask)? You won’t get it all out, but it might help. There is an option for removing noise (filter->noise->remove noise?) that I have seen, but haven’t tried. If you find a better solution, let me know!

    • October 13, 2009 11:33 am

      Boo, I forgot to check the “notify me of follow-up comments” so I am posting this to set that. You should make that the default option 🙂

      • October 14, 2009 3:00 pm

        Thanks for the tips, Shane! I think I tried both of those with limited success, but I’m running an older version of PS and it’s sort of missing a few functions, I think, so it may not have done the job. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping for a new version of PS and Illustrator for Christmas (hint, hint, Santa!).

  2. October 13, 2009 1:02 pm

    she sure looks excited hope she enjoyed it as well!

  3. October 13, 2009 1:40 pm

    What a nice picture : ) She looks SUPER surprised and excited : ) I have never had a flaming dessert. Did it taste good?

Leave a Reply

