Skip to content

anniversary week: reception

October 10, 2009

Today, is our actual legal anniversary.  You see, everything went so perfectly on our big day… except… we filled out the wrong paperwork and sent it back to the wrong state.  Oops.  So we weren’t actually legally married until after we came back from our honeymoon.  Yep.  Our legal marriage involved us, in jeans, with my mom, scrounging through purses and pockets to come up with the $110 marriage license fees.  Because they wouldn’t take checks or credit.  It was very classy.

Anyways, we think this means that we get to celebrate our anniversary for an entire week.  Which means that I’m pulling out the top layer of the cake and devouring it today.  Can. Not. Wait.

Anyways.  Our reception was held at the Grain Exchange Room, which is a big fancy old room where people used to come to exchange grain back in the day.  It was lovely.

Our cake topper was a little porcelain angel, and it originally sat on top of my great-grandparents cake when they were married.

The cake was amazing, as was the food.  We had a wonderful dinner – I only wish I had more time to eat it!

I tortured Jason and my dad by making them take ballroom dancing lessons with me.

This is the part where my dad kept yelling at me to follow! not lead!

Jason danced with his mom…

And then, the Jersey girls hit the dance floor and we made the photographers leave before they caught any, ahem, unflattering photos of our guests (or ourselves)…

Ahh… we had such a great day!  Thanks to everyone who was a part of it for making it so special (and thanks to the rest of you for bearing with me as I take this trip down memory lane)!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    October 10, 2009 3:27 pm

    Happy legal anniversary! Thanks again for the memories; I loved reliving the wedding for a week. It was an absolutely fantastic time; you planned a great weekend! Look at all those smiles.
    I didn’t realize that your Dad took dancing lessons; what a good sport!
    And lastly, admit that you gotta love those “Jersey girls”! We love a good time!

  2. mom permalink
    October 10, 2009 4:48 pm

    I actually wish we could do it all over again…I really enjoyed the shopping and planning and shopping! I miss that mother/daughter time…too many boys around here, Comet included!

  3. October 10, 2009 11:01 pm

    Gosh – Your wedding looks like it was a blast!!!
    I love the pictures by the barn – so creative – and your reception looks like it was lovely too- especially the cake!!!
    Thanks for sharing your special moment with us –
    hope you have a good weekend,
    it’s still 98 degrees down here – ugh
    ready for some fall weather.

  4. Debbie permalink
    October 10, 2009 11:03 pm

    Carol, you will get to do it again with Ashley!(someday)

    • mom permalink
      October 12, 2009 12:23 am

      Debbie, I am not so sure…she may take the money and run!

  5. October 11, 2009 2:56 pm

    What an absolutely beautiful reception location!

Leave a Reply

