Skip to content

Fall (candy) Tablescape

September 30, 2009

The temperature here has dropped in the past few days, my allergies are going wild, and there’s a slight reddish tint to some of the leaves in our yard.  That, to me, means it’s official: fall is here!

I love fall.

I love picking pumpkins from a pumpkin patch, hay rides, and warm apple cider.  I love wool sweaters and blankets, and sitting by the fire on chilly evenings.  I love the beautiful colors of the leaves this time of year – deep reds, burnt oranges, and golden yellows.

I also love that it is the beginning of a 6-month candy season that lasts until Easter (because from now until Easter there is all sorts of seasonal candy on shelves).  I love candy.

So when I threw together a little fall tablescape, I decided to pay homage to my little candy obsession.  Also, I had just run across this little Pottery Barn table setting and wanted to try something similar with objects that I already had.

Candy, galvanized metal, and faux pumpkins?  What’s not to love.  Love that galvanized metal tray.  Love it.

So here’s my version:

The orange table runner is actually a cute tablecloth that my sister gave me for our wedding last year.  I filled the bases of glass candlesticks with tootsie rolls and candy corn, added some white cake stands, tucked candy into glasses, and then pulled out a wire pumpkin candleholder and a porcelain pumpkin.  It’s a bit less elegant than Pottery Barn’s version, but for only the cost of a bunch of candy, I’m quite pleased with it.

Really, the only issue is that I want to eat all of the candy (and it’s highly probably that I will, indeed, eat all of the candy).  In fact, I’ve slowly worked my way through about half of it already this week.  We’ve had such a rollercoaster-filled couple of days here: on the plus side, we picked up our puppy on Saturday, a friend welcomed a baby girl into the world on Monday, and our sweet, beautiful niece, Maelynn Elizabeth was born yesterday (Congrats Bridget and Sean!); on the minus side, a friend that we were planning to see in 3 weeks unexpectedly passed away Sunday – I think Jason will guest post more about this later, but it’s so sad and shocking that it’s left both of us pretty shaken.

So, yes, the candy is getting eaten.  For better or for worse.

(I’m adding this to the “It’s Fall, Y’all” party at Southern Hospitality, which is not only a cute name for a bunch of links on cute fall decorations, but is also a fun little reminder of the time we lived in Kentucky.  It’s my first excuse to use “y’all” in 2 years.  Check it out!)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. blissbait permalink
    September 30, 2009 1:09 pm

    your tables are great
    and oooohhhhh yes, here comes candy
    somebody stop me! 🙂

    Thanks, Cheers and Happy Candy Season to You!

  2. aunt tami permalink
    September 30, 2009 1:15 pm

    Yum! I’ll be over in 15 minutes, the candy will be history in no time. That candy gene is mixed into my gene pool too. 🙂

  3. September 30, 2009 2:17 pm

    Awwww….So cute! Would look great for a festive party too!

  4. September 30, 2009 5:50 pm

    Love your version of the tablescape.

    Especially the candy!

    The candy you gave me for my kids is calling MY NAME from the kitchen cupboard.

    If I can’t resist, I will have to hope this kids forget about it’s existence!!!

  5. October 1, 2009 10:29 am

    That candy obsession came from grandpa Perry and passed on. I can still recall the 10pm runs to white hen pantry for m&m and chocolate stars….

  6. October 1, 2009 12:21 pm

    Good job on decorating your table. I do love PB and the ideas from their magazine! I don’t think I could have pulled it all together though. 🙂 Is the candy gone yet? It definitely wouldn’t last longer a day here at our house!!

  7. October 1, 2009 4:55 pm

    Love the tealights on the candy corn! Great idea!

  8. October 1, 2009 6:50 pm

    So sorry to hear about your friend. Your CANDY tablescape is yummy!!!! Thanks for sharing your talent with us. HAPPY FALL!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  9. October 2, 2009 1:08 am

    I think I like your table scape better! Love the candy in the candle holders. So many different options available, m&m’s, orange and black dots…the possibilities are endless.

  10. October 2, 2009 10:55 am

    Sorry about the loss of your friend. Like your tablescape! Some great ideas.

  11. October 2, 2009 10:57 am

    Love yours! A bit more elegant I think. 🙂 Loving all the candles and that little wire pumpkin ( I must find one!)

  12. October 3, 2009 1:16 am

    What a pretty Fall table scape! Thank you for sharing!

    Blessings,
    Marie

  13. October 17, 2009 7:46 pm

    I love how you used candy corn in the candle holders! Super affordable option.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy (early) Halloween! «
  2. fall tablescape «

Leave a Reply

