Skip to content

a big announcement

September 29, 2009

Jason and I are pleased to announce that our little family is expanding!

We adopted an adorable 7-week-old puppy on Saturday!

(you thought I was going to say, “I’m pregnant” – didn’t you?)

So far, it’s not been too difficult, and what she lacks in bladder control, she more than makes up for in cuddles.

I have two doggies asleep in my lap right now.  It rocks.  Especially on a cold, rainy, sad afternoon.

We’re naming her Jezebel, and yes, we are aware of the Biblical interpretations of the story featuring a woman named Jezebel, but we like the song Jezebel by Iron and Wine and we’d never name any potential future children Jezebel, so we’re safe there.  Plus, Jezebel means pure in Hebrew, and what is more pure than the sweet little puppy on my lap pretending to nurse in her sleep?

We don’t know what breed she is – we adopted her from a local rescue that found her wandering the streets when she was only a few weeks old.  But she looks like Barley and has a similar (read: lazy) temperament, so all is well.  The two dogs play together when they’re awake (or chew bones next to each other) and cuddle up together when they’re asleep.

It is the perfect timing for a new doggy – our carpets are old and will (hopefully) be replaced by wood floors soon, I’m home all day to deal with potty training, and Barley was getting sick of posing for photos, so I needed a new subject anyways.

What I do know is that you should never go into an adoption event “just to look”.  Because you will come home with a dog.  I can pretty much promise you that.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 2:45 pm

    ooooooooo mmmmyyyyyyyy gggggoooodddd!!!! How cute is she!! I am one of those people who are banned from going to see pets to adopt…I have 2 dogs, 2 cats, and a work kitty who is coming home with me soon.

    She is just the sweetest thing ever! I can see why she is yours now.

  2. mom permalink
    September 29, 2009 2:58 pm

    She looks an awful lot like Comet….I bet that’s why you picked her! How big will she get? Did you have her picked out before you left for Ireland? I remember you mentioning something about this…

  3. September 29, 2009 4:36 pm

    Oh my gosh, they love each other already.

  4. japortma permalink
    September 29, 2009 8:51 pm

    PUPPY!!!! How cute!! I am slightly jealous and really want to get a dog too…lucky for me I am not allowed to have pets in my condo–or I can pretty much guarantee that I would already have one of my own too!! You would fit right in here–everybody has dogs!

  5. Debbie permalink
    September 29, 2009 10:26 pm

    She is so cute! Maybe all the cousins will soon be spending summers at Uncle Jason & Aunt Jen’s farm! You’re getting quite the menagerie!
    Can’t wait to meet Jezebel!

    • September 29, 2009 10:52 pm

      I know… just need a few chickens and we’ll really have a farm! Or maybe some sheep now that I have an obsession?

  6. September 30, 2009 8:55 am

    shes beautiful!!!! How do you keep yourself from not holding her all day long!! Just think you saved a life!!!! Looking forward to more pictures of her!!

  7. October 1, 2009 12:07 pm

    Congrats! I love her name! When I first looked at the picture I thought she looked a lot like Barley. I have to agree that there is no such thing as just going to look! I use to say that all the time….then we came home with Toby and Joey! Have fun!

  8. GpaGG permalink
    October 1, 2009 12:08 pm

    Hey. . . . . .
    Thats not the kinda baby Iam talking about.
    Gramps

  9. October 1, 2009 5:09 pm

    thanks, Jen for joining the Fall party! Love your candy display. I’m a sucker for candy corn myself. Please come back & visit me again!

  10. October 4, 2009 7:40 pm

    lol, I got a kitten from 7 Mile Fair (just south of Milwaukee) that I named Jezebel!

    What rescue did you get little Miss Jezebel from?

    • October 4, 2009 9:35 pm

      I think it was the SPCA. Glad to hear we’re not the only ones with a pet named Jezebel… we’ve had quite a few people question why we decided on that name…

Trackbacks

  1. Fall (candy) Tablescape «
  2. 2009 in review «

Leave a Reply

