Skip to content

chalkboard window

August 26, 2009

Since I’ll be busy cleaning, packing, and preparing for our Jersey/Ireland adventures today, I thought I’d repost a cheap little project that I did a few months ago (when we lived in Minneapolis).  (This also means I can participate in Maman Tattoo’s under $15 project round up and The DIY Show Off’s Surprise Party.  Yay!)

We had our old basement windows replaced with glass block last winter, and I held on to a few of the window frames.  For this project, I just popped the glass window out of the frame, and sanded and painted the window frame. Then, I purchased a light-weight wood board ($5) and cut it to the size of my window frame.  After painting the board with chalk board paint ($5) and letting it dry, I popped it in the back of the window frame.  Ta da! A fun re-use for an old window that would have otherwise been thrown out!

Here’s what it looked like in our home office in Minneapolis:

And here’s our chalkboard in our new Michigan office in the country:

(I wish my desk looked that clean right now.  It’s covered in bills, camera equipment, and travel books/maps.  Yikes!)

And now?  Time for more cleaning, laundry, and packing!  I’ll be back tomorrow with some of my favorite travel tips, and I’d love it if you’d share a few of your favorites with me!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 9:50 am

    love that idea,
    I have an old window like that ,
    I put photos on it – I love it
    It looks great in your home office

  2. August 26, 2009 10:52 am

    Turned out really great, and apparently very versatile.

    Thanks for adding your link to my party!

  3. August 26, 2009 11:08 am

    I love how the black and white really pops! Great job!

  4. August 26, 2009 11:44 am

    Told you this before, but I love it! Such a great makeover!

  5. August 26, 2009 12:12 pm

    Looks great! So handy to have three compartments too.

  6. mom permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:37 pm

    So you asked about handy travel tips? I like putting all my clothes into 1 gallon ziploc bags (2-4 items per bag) then I kneel on it to force out most of the air before sealing. I can pack so much more into the suitcase, don’t have to worry about security personnel touching all my stuff because if they search they can see exactly what is inside, and I have handy bags to put the dirty clothes back in and seal them off from the rest of the clean clothes in the suitcase!

    And like I said before, I really love the chalkboard; you didn’t happen to save any other window frames did you?

  7. August 27, 2009 10:18 am

    LOVE this idea! I have two windows similar to this that I may have to try this on!

  8. September 24, 2009 11:50 am

    I LOVE it! I love old windows and chalkboards are such a fun accent. You did a fantastic job!

    Thanks so much for adding your inspiration to the DIY Show & Tell!

    Roeshel

Leave a Reply

