Skip to content

mirror, mirror, on the wall…

August 24, 2009

As I mentioned on Friday, we were all about having a low-key weekend here in the country.  And we *almost* managed it, completing just a few small house projects.  We figured it would be nice to come home from our 2-week vacation to Ireland to a clean house, and that if we could finish just a few unfinished projects now, we can start new ones when we get home.

Which brings us to the mirror.

We spend hours scouring the area for a plain-ish oval-shaped mirror last Sunday, checking all of the usual subjects – Target, Hobby Lobby, Bed Bath & Beyond, etc, etc.  I didn’t see anything I liked.

So last week, I popped into a local thrift store, just in case they had what I was looking for.

And I found this for $10:

Do you love how my pile of laundry that needs to be folded is in focus and the mirror is out of focus in this one?  If you squint a little, the mirror comes into focus.  I swear.

After a few coats of black spray paint (which I already had from my kitchen cart project), it was ready to be hung in our newly-remodeled bathroom.

We also hung a glass shelf under the mirror, which will be the perfect place for a pretty toothbrush holder or soap dispenser (when/if we get them).  In any case, I’m quite pleased with this $10 adventure into thriftstoreland.

In totally unrelated news, I’ve been watching this guy from my desk chair.

Please note that he is INSIDE the screen – between the glass window and the screen.  I think I should free him, but if I open the window to release the screen, he could just as easily jump into the house, and I’ve had this serious do not touch policy with frogs ever since college neuroscience.

Jason?  If you’re reading this, there’s a little something I need you to do when you get home tonight…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 4:00 pm

    Your mirror is a great fit! I love your bathroom – it’s such a dramatic change!

  2. August 24, 2009 5:16 pm

    love your frog!!! and your mirror!

  3. Uncle B permalink
    August 26, 2009 8:14 am

    Why is your dirty laundry on the new mirror?

    • August 26, 2009 9:24 am

      Because I am a slob?
      In my defense, the laundry isn’t actually ON the mirror, the REFLECTION of the CLEAN laundry is on the mirror. It’s CLEAN! I promise! Just not folded.

  4. August 26, 2009 11:45 am

    That mirror turned out perfect for the bathroom!! Oh, and thanks for being real about the laundry. You made me smile. 🙂

  5. Aunt Tami permalink
    August 26, 2009 3:30 pm

    Wow, the whole bathroom looks awesome. Looks just like a spread from a magazine! You should come visit for a week or two, oh and bring your paint brushes and tools!

Leave a Reply

