Skip to content

my little craft room: good enough for now

August 12, 2009

I thought I’d throw up some pictures of my (unfinished) craft room today, since I haven’t really mentioned it at all yet.  I’m sure you’re all wondering where I’d be sewing (if I had the time), right? Mmm, yeah.  Or not.

We picked up the super-awesome mid-century modern dresser off of craigslist, and it does a lovely job of storing fabric and other sewing goodies.  The rest of my craft supplies can be neatly hidden in the closet.  Everything else we moved from our home in Minneapolis.

Just getting this far was kind of a big deal… we’d been using this room to hold everything we needed for our bathroom remodel, and it was kind of a construction nightmare.

Speaking of the bathroom, I’ve been painting it.  We kind of ignored it for a few weeks, hoping that the work would do itself, but that never happened.  Sometimes, when there’s projects that both J and I don’t want to undertake, we just let it sit there.  We wait it out until the other person does it.  It’s like the elephant in the room.  No one talks about it… just waits it out.  I usually give in.  Jason is WAY more patient than I am with these things (or lazy.  Is it laziness, JT?).  Does anyone else do this?

Moving on.  One of the most awesome perks about this house is that I get to use the nicely-sized third bedroom to make stuff.  Or, I will use it to make stuff, once I’m done painting the house.  Or something.

We’ve sort of hit the point in the move where I just really really really really want to hang up pictures.  Looking at bare walls is getting old.

But I have commitment fears.  Like: what if I make that nail hole in the wall and later decide I don’t want to hang the picture in that spot?  Then, I’m left with a hole in the wall, and patching and repainting is a lot of work.  (Oh, who am I kidding?  I would totally just leave the big old nail hole there!)

So that’s that.  My little craft room.  It will probably be the last room to actually get a coat of paint and some pictures, but at least it’s functional for now!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 11:05 am

    What a fantastic find! Love the use of the jars

  2. August 12, 2009 11:59 am

    I definitely like that dresser! Can’t wait to see how you finish off the room!

    • jen permalink
      August 12, 2009 11:52 pm

      I saw the dresser that you painted white and wanted one! But then, I got it home and chickened out of painting it white. It’s in pretty good condition, so it can stay like this (until I get bored of it)!

  3. Aunt Tami permalink
    August 12, 2009 2:25 pm

    Hey, I love the top shot of Barley! He looks like he either just got caught stealing a pin cushion and several spools of thread from the new craft room or he has TOTALLY resigned himself to the fact that he has to sit and pose for YET ANOTHER photograph!

    • jen permalink
      August 12, 2009 11:53 pm

      I know, he is so funny. He just plopped himself there and wouldn’t move. I think he looks especially bored in the profile shot (pic 2) – it’s like he can’t even be bothered to look at the camera anymore…

  4. Debbie permalink
    August 12, 2009 8:10 pm

    Hi, Jen. This is Jim writing under Debbie’s name. Want to avoid nail holes? Use the picture hooks that 3M puts about. They can be installed and removed without putting a hole in the wall or removing paint when you want to take them off. Home Depot, Target, Wal-mart all carry them. So much for my tip for the day.

    We’re looking forward to your arrival in a few weeks.

  5. Debbie permalink
    August 12, 2009 11:14 pm

    This is Debbie writing under my own name. So how come we don’t use those 3M things, Jim?

    • The Husband permalink
      August 12, 2009 11:32 pm

      that’s because we rearranged your pictures and were too cheap to buy them. as jen put it, “it’s not my house.”

      • jen permalink
        August 12, 2009 11:51 pm

        ouch, JT! (I do have an easier time putting holes in other people’s walls, I confess). Are those 3M things really strong enough to handle large pictures? Also, will they work on our textured walls? Might be something to consider!

  6. mom permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:35 am

    I still can’t believe you took it upon yourself to put holes in someone else’s walls without them knowing….

Leave a Reply

