Skip to content

Toronto

August 10, 2009

I spent most of last week and the weekend at a conference in Toronto.  I know, I know.  It seems silly to be going to conferences when I am not technically gainfully employed, but I committed to this before we knew we were moving, and it was an (almost) all-expenses-paid trip.  Not to mention, I got to see some of my favorite colleagues friends and visit a new city.

some of my favorite colleagues friends

The only tourist-y thing we did in Toronto was head to the top of the CN tower.  (It was a working vacation after all.  Or something like that.)

The CN tower is/was one of the world’s tallest structures.  There seems to be confusion about labeling, though.  Is it a tower?  Building?  Free-standing structure?  In any case, it’s super-tall.

We headed to the lower of the observation decks.  The ~340 meter tall deck gave us pretty great views of the surrounding area, although we weren’t able to see Niagra Falls, as some have claimed to.  We opted not to stand in line for an additional hour and a half to reach the higher, ~440 meter observation deck.  I’m not a huge fan of waiting in line, or crowds, or even heights.

To be honest, it was a bit freaky.  I was disturbed to find myself remembering videos of people jumping off the World Trade Center on 9/11/2001.  Those buildings were just slightly taller than the observation deck we were on, and really, there’s no words to express how awful that must have been for those people.

(I have to admit, I felt a little better when one of my friends confessed that the same thought ran through his head.  Before he said anything, I was wondering if I was being excessively morbid.  But no.  Chalk this one up to not-a-totally-ridiculous reaction).

I’m not sure how to pull this post out from the darkness that it just spiraled into without appearing to make light of a heavy situation.

How about another view of Toronto?

And the view from our hotel room?  Excellent.  (Nice work, Bill… you always find the best hotels.)

We stayed on King Street (downtown) and it was fantastic to be able to walk everywhere and to try nearby restaurants and shopping.  In fact, I think I may have eaten my way through Toronto – we had some seriously amazing meals.  I especially enjoyed the Spice Route.  We had a large group for dinner, and everything was served asian tapas style (in other words, lots of smaller dishes shared).  I was full by round 4, but there were about 12 other rounds of food to try.

Jason joined us for the weekend, and again, we totally ate our way through Toronto.  Friday night we had dinner with one of our colleagues from Minneapolis and his wife, and it was fantastic.  Saturday, we ate at Zoe’s Bakery Cafe and had an enormous omelette and an asian chicken wrap bigger than a Chipotle Burrito.  Delicious.  And of course there were also visits to Z-teca, a burrito chain, to see how it compared to other burrito chains (Jason loves burritos almost as much as he loves me and the dog). We did a bunch of walking on Saturday to burn off the million calories we ate but didn’t see nearly enough of the city.  I think we’ll be back soon, since it’s only about a 6-hour drive from our house, and because I have a friend or two currently living there.

Jason is a tree-hugger

2 Comments leave one →
  1. theperryfamily permalink
    August 11, 2009 12:33 am

    Glad you had a good time. Are the painted moose still all around town (like the painted bears or lobsters in Maine and the painted cows in ???)

    • jen permalink
      August 11, 2009 10:23 am

      I only saw one painted moose and I failed to persuade Jason (or Bill, for that matter) to stand in front of it while I took a picture. Boo!

Leave a Reply

