Skip to content

our one-year-later honeymoon

August 3, 2009

After our wedding last October, we rented a cabin in Door Country, Wisconsin for a week.  Here is the only decent picture we have from the week:

The only other shots we have were of me, on the couch, in my pink sweatpants, dreaming away.  Yep, I pretty much slept through my honeymoon (and it was so awesome.  I love sleep!).  Once we recovered from the year-long ordeal that was wedding planning, we began to discuss where we’d go on our “real” honeymoon.  With the move and the new house, we’ve been putting off vacation planning for a while.

But then, people in our families unexpectedly got sick, and we began to wonder what we were waiting for.  There’s no time like the present, right?

So we bought tickets to Ireland!

Here are just a few of the sights I’m most looking forward to:

The Cliffs of Moher

Skellig Michael (a >1400-year old monastic settlement on an island)

Rock of Cashel

Giant’s Causeway

(Also, I should note that I’m getting so, so, so excited to try out my new photography skillz in a new country!  I hope to be able to frame and hang lots of pictures from this trip!)

And here is what Jason is most looking forward to:

Irish Pubs

We leave 4 weeks from today!  I’ve read Rick Steve’s guide to Ireland about 55 times, and I’m getting ready to solidify our itinerary and make sleeping arrangements.  But before I do, I thought I’d ask if any of you have suggestions on where we should stay/eat and what we should see/do? Eek!  I can’t wait!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 4:35 pm

    I have lots of ideas – mostly for the north of Ireland, as our cottage is 2 MILES from the Giants Causeway, and there are wonderful pubs and restaurants nearby.

    An email on it’s way 🙂

  2. Debbie permalink
    August 3, 2009 6:32 pm

    I sent you an email with my favorite spots in Ireland. I wish I was going with you; I can’t wait to go back! I know Jason will have as good a time as we had in the pubs–and everywhere else! Slainte!

  3. August 3, 2009 10:04 pm

    How exciting!! I’m sure you’ll absolutely love it!!

  4. August 10, 2009 11:40 am

    Hi Jen!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving me such an encouraging comment about my break up. It’s so hard right now, but I know that eventually I’ll find my Mr Right, just like you

  5. August 10, 2009 11:40 am

    Oh, and your trip sounds amazing! I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland!

  6. August 18, 2009 2:03 pm

    I can’t wait until November for our own trip to Ireland, so I’ll have to live vicariously through you in just about a month.

Trackbacks

  1. chalkboard window «

Leave a Reply

