Skip to content

a peek at our kitchen

July 22, 2009

It’s only 8:15, and I’ve already had an exciting morning.  I won what looks to be an amazing book – Pretty by Phoebe Howard – from one of the blogs that I follow – Things that Inspire.  To say that I’m psyched would be an understatement (especially since this book isn’t for sale yet).  I’ll have to figure out a little giveaway of my own to, you know, pay it forward.

Anyways, in honor of my winning, I thought I’d share a bit of my own newly-prettied kitchen.  (Also?  Little-known Jen fun fact: pretty was my first word).  Anyways, the flowery before:

Ahh, the old, faded wallpaper and that awful chandelier that would smack anyone 5’8″ or taller in the noggin!  (Fortunately, neither one of us is supermodel tall, so no concussions have been obtained in the kitchen).

And now?  A peek at the newer, lighter, brighter kitchen.

We stripped the wallpaper and painted the walls a light green.  I was especially excited about this color because it goes with our new green and black dinnerware.  I plan to paint the bottom part of the wooden Ikea stand above a brighter shade of green.  Just for fun. 

Also, a question for you:  Where do you keep your knives?  Out on the counter?  Or hidden away?

I’m more of a “hidden” kind of gal, because I’m paranoid that someone will break into my house and use them against me.  That is crazy talk, I know.

Ahem.  Anyways.

Jason voted to keep them out and show them off, and since I have yet to find cupboard space for them, they remain out.

And here’s a shot of the oven and our hanging pot/pan rack.  It’s really convenient to have the pans next to the stove, and it frees up some of our cabinet space for other things, like the blender.  So I’m loving the functionality of that little silver bar.

After I painted the green on the walls, I hated the two-tone color of the cabinets.  (okay, I hated them a little before I painted the green.  but now I really hate them.)

So I’ve slowly been repainting the cupboards white.  I think it looks a bit crisper and cleaner, and once I decide on/order brushed nickel hardware, I think it will look much more up-to-date.

We’re also working on replacing the light fixtures in the kitchen with something that will a) not threaten our tall friends/family and b) provide brighter lighting to all areas of the kitchen.  Stay tuned!

And now?  It’s your turn to spill the beans about your knife situation.  Are you crazy like me?  Or a show-off like Jason?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 9:37 am

    I really like the paint color and how you did up your kitchen shelves on the wall. I’m also a fan of the pot rack. Your kitchen is looking good! I vote for knives hidden away! We have a lot of cabinet space so I have ours tucked away in a drawer.

  2. July 22, 2009 10:22 am

    GREAT improvement!! Can’t wait to see it all done!

  3. July 22, 2009 10:38 am

    Love the green! And I feel the same way about knives. I know it’s irrational to think someone is going to break in, find the knives, grab one and then use it on me, but I still am nervous about leaving them out. But, it’s too inconvenient to put them away in our kitchent. Sigh…

  4. amy permalink
    July 22, 2009 11:22 am

    Since we have about 9 square inches of counter space, we don’t waste it with stuff like knives.

    When I hear a strange noise at night and think someone’s in the apartment, I always assume they have their own weapons. I mean, they had to go to the trouble of breaking in, right? At any rate, their fists could do enough damage, especially if they’re all hepped up on goofballs.

    I like the green! It’s clean and modern without feeling out of place in a country home.

  5. July 22, 2009 12:18 pm

    I used the same bars and hooks in my kitchen! Love the look of them. Here’s a link to mine:

    http://danielleandclint.blogspot.com/2009/04/fin-lly.html

    The cabinets look a million times better, btw. White does give them that clean look and brightens the room more.

  6. Debbie permalink
    July 22, 2009 6:16 pm

    Love the kitchen! Love the cabinets, paint color, pot rack-all of it!
    We used to keep our knives out but now we keep them in the drawer. Unless you have tons of counter space it’s silly to use it up with something as boring as knives. (Plus they are handy if someone decides to break in and use them. It’s not like you have neighbors who will hear you.)

  7. July 23, 2009 1:36 am

    Congrats on winning the Ms. Howard book. Oh I’m so envious.

    Love the work you’ve done on your home.

  8. Aunt Tami permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:59 am

    Wow! The kitchen looks great, I love the combination of the shiny new shelves and the vintage tin cans. I guess this means that Thanksgiving will be at your house this year. 🙂

    Sounds like the knife wielding scary guy really gets around the country. In case he shows up in our neck of the woods, our knives go in the drawer.

    As far as the lighting…I would recommend some under the cabinet and over the cook top lighting in addition to whatever you do on the ceiling. There are lots of different types and sizes to choose from, easily installed. Any type of ceiling lighting that sits behind your shoulders while you are working at the counter or stove casts shadows and creates dark spots. Another option is to buy one or two cute tiny lamps to set on the counter. One of my (most talented, design-wise) friends always has a lamp or two in her kitchen. Sounds strange, but it’s good for working and it also gives a very inviting, warm light to the space.

  9. August 3, 2009 2:41 pm

    Hi Jen! Your kitchen looks great – love the open shelving. Just wanted to make sure that the book arrived!

Leave a Reply

