Skip to content

wordy bookshelves

July 21, 2009

Today, I present to you my very first Ikea hack (and yes, there’s totally a website devoted to getting creative with Ikea furniture).  A few weeks ago, JT and I made our first trip to Ikea Detroit, and returned home several hours later with a full car.  We purchased two of the above shelving units (the Traby shelves, found here) for $50 each.  We purchased the feet for these shelves for an additional $1 each.

Each bookshelf got 2 coats of white paint (which we already had), and, inspired by the recent trend in funky wallpapered bookshelves (here, for example), we decided to do our own little wordy treatment on the back of these bad boys.  I picked up a used book for $1.99, ripped out all of the pages, and decoupaged them to the back of the shelving units (before the shelves were actually put together).

After the paint and glue dried, Jason put the shelves together.  Check it out:

(On a totally unrelated note, the numbered pictures on the bookshelves are recycled table numbers from our wedding last year.  Each one shows a photo of both J and I at the age numbered in the middle.  My mom and I slaved over them for an entire weekend, and it seems silly to have them just sitting in a box.  I’m not sure about putting them here – do they clutter up the space even more?  I’m determined to find a home for them, just not sure if this is a good one.)

What do you think?  I think I love them.  (I also think I may be the only one in the house who notices them, based on their short height, and positioning in the room.  But they make me happy, and that’s all that matters, right?).

I’m sharing this with the DIY show off’s surprise party!  Head on over to see other great DIY furniture makeovers.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    July 21, 2009 6:21 pm

    I checked out the large picture of your shelves via Picasa and think they look great. Also: do you really have 2 copies of Biochemistry?

  2. jen permalink
    July 21, 2009 6:54 pm

    Yep, totally… We are THAT nerdy. At one point there was a discussion about getting rid of one of them. I mean, who needs 2 copies of a Biochemistry textbook? Well, apparently, we do. Maybe we wanted to read aloud to each other? Or we thought we’d both need it at the same time? Actually, I think it was that we both wanted a copy in our work office (it is a pretty stellar textbook). Oh gosh. Did I just use the words “stellar” and “textbook” in the same sentence? Lame.

  3. Debbie permalink
    July 21, 2009 11:03 pm

    They look great! What a wonderful idea!

  4. July 22, 2009 8:46 am

    The look great and I enjoy the wit. Stellar job. Textbook craftsmanship.

  5. July 22, 2009 10:25 am

    I LOVE the shelves!! Great job! And you accessorized them so nicely!

  6. July 22, 2009 3:05 pm

    I love all of your organization tools…the pot rack especially is quite envy inducing for someone wedged into a New York kitchen! I keep my knives out in a block, but I’ve always liked the idea of a magnetic strip mounted on the wall to stick them on. I seem to remember that Julia Child did it that way?

  7. September 30, 2009 6:20 pm

    I just love cute and unique touches. You did a great job!

    Thanks SO much for linking to the DIY Show & Tell party!

    Roeshel

  8. September 30, 2009 8:35 pm

    Looks great! I love old book pages!

    XO*Tricia

Trackbacks

  1. office updates «

Leave a Reply

