Skip to content

yellow office, revisited

July 20, 2009

Last time I mentioned our office, it was because we painted the dark oak-paneled walls a lighter and brighter yellow.  Remember?

before

after painting the walls yellow and removing the dark curtains

I wasn’t thrilled with it, though, and thanks to a great suggestion by a few of you, I tried painting the trim white, and it looks so much better.  So, thank you!  Thanks for reading my blog and for having good taste in trim paint suggestions!  Yay!

Anyways.

We finally moved furniture, books, etc, in over the weekend, and now I have a functional and (mostly) pretty space to work and blog.

If there’s one thing to be noted here, it’s that we have a super-ridiculous amount of books.  We gave away 3 medium-sized boxes before we left Minneapolis, so there has been some effort to purge this collection, but we’re both avid readers and just couldn’t get rid of any more.  I organized it by color, and then alphabetically by author’s last name, and I tried to mix up the direction that the books are stacked – mostly because I didn’t want to reorganize every time we came home with a new book (although, upon viewing of our entire collection, we’ve banned ourselves from bookstores until further notice).  I have yet to finish the old banker’s chair that I started work on in Minneapolis, but I’m sure it will be done sooner or later.

In the above picture, you’ll notice that I’m not actually done painting the windows.  Oops.  Hopefully, you were too busy staring at the super-duper-ridiculously-awesome card catalog to the left of the window.  I picked it up for $22.50, and someday, I will figure out what can fit in those tiny little drawers.  I’m thinking pens, pencils, and other small office-related dealies.  Jason wants to make our own Dewey Decimal system for our little library (because he’s super-nerdy hillarious like that).  In any case, this is a piece of history, baby, love it!  Love it!

Hopefully, you did not notice that my degree is only a quarter of the size of Jason’s (why is that?), or that there are only 3 degrees on the wall (there should be 4, 5 if you count Barley’s graduation from obedience class).  I don’t think the University ever sent my second degree, so I guess I’ll be tracking that down in my spare time.  I’m also going to have to check around here for Barley’s degree.  He’s quite proud of himself, and would like to admire his work from his kennel (which is that big thing in the corner that I’ve attempted to hide with a blue sheet – it’s not very pretty, but he likes it anyways).

And, here’s the other side of the room.  Check out the dorm-chic plastic drawers and more painting to be completed at a later date, as well as the ceiling tile that I impatiently pulled down (to see what was up there, of course!) and now won’t go back up. Oops.

the wall color is a bit off here

Someday, I hope to get a bigger desk with big file drawers for my bill-paying enjoyment.  Until I find the perfect desk at a reasonable price, though, we’ll have to stick with this Ikea model and the plastic drawers.  Above the desk, I hung the window frame chalkboard that I made in Minneapolis (yay for a reminder of our previous home!).  Also?  It may be the dorky ex-chemistry major in me finally making an appearance on the blog, but isn’t the plant in the volumetric flask rad?  I managed to score several volumetric flasks of different sizes for free a few months ago, and I am pleased to finally find a reason to use them!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 10:56 am

    Wow! Painting that trim white really did the trick!! Even the carpet looks different! I am glad you kept the color on the walls.

  2. July 22, 2009 8:13 am

    We painted the same wood yellow, also. There are some pictures (of plants, but you can see the walls in the background) in this post:
    http://theoldpostroadblog.blogspot.com/2009/07/stayin-alive.html

    You will need to pan down to about photo 6 to see the den/family room.

    Have a nice day!

  3. July 24, 2009 12:27 am

    Looks great. I, too, like the white trim.

    I have knotty pine in the family room that I intend to paint. It seems to currently suck all the light out of the room.

    What kind of prep did you do before you painted? Did you prime? How many final color coats did it require? Can you still see wood grain and knots?

    I was hoping that my paint would cover the wood completely but still let everyone know that it is indeed wood.

    • jen permalink
      July 24, 2009 10:15 am

      I used 2 coats of killz primer and 2 coats of a yellow latex-based paint. It covers the wood completely, but you can still see the texture of the knots in some places. Maybe you could just do some sort of whitewash treatment if you really want the grain and knots to show through? That could brighten things up without completely taking out the wood look… I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Trackbacks

  1. a year in home improvements «
  2. office updates «

Leave a Reply

