Skip to content

chandelier

July 4, 2009

Check out this snapshot of our dining room before we stripped the wallpaper and painted everything.

The chandelier was looking a bit faded and outdated.  Take a closer look:

Yep, this baby, in all of it’s brassy goodness was ready for a change.

So, we took it down and pulled it apart.  I used spray paint (rustoleum primer and glossy black paint) to paint the main body of the chandelier and the part where the chandelier connects to the ceiling.  Jason replaced the wiring, since the brassy-colored cloth covering for the old wiring was beginning to unravel.  We also bought new black chain links (much easier than painting the old brassy links).  After putting all of the pieces back together, we hung it back up:

Much better!  I think our new black chandelier looks much sharper against our new beige walls… but – what should I do about the lightbulbs?  I can’t decide whether I should buy little lampshades for each lightbulb, or just buy a series of small, clear, round lightbulbs.  What do you think?  Lampshades? Small clear bulbs?  A third option that I should consider?  Help!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2009 2:29 am

    Hello again 🙂

    We had a brassy light fitting like that in our first home!

    It looks great in black.

    What about those sort of candle shaped bulbs? Or else I would go with new shades. Just my opinion!

    Would love to give you some recommendations about your trip. Please email me at janmary dot janmary at gmail dot com.

  2. Debbie permalink
    July 4, 2009 7:50 am

    The paint looks great on the chandelier! I would go with lampshades. There are all sorts of beautiful ones out there. The Ballard catalog has several of them. You can get them almost anywhere; they just have a larger selection.
    I’m so glad you’re blogging again; I can’t wait to see the house!
    Happy Independence Day to you!!!!!!!! Don’t eat too many brats.

  3. aunt tami permalink
    July 5, 2009 1:17 pm

    With that particular chandelier, I vote for some nice lampshades…look at resoration hardware (for up to date styles) and then buy them elsewhere (for price). It looks good…keep going, I can’t wait until this bed and breakfast is open for business.

  4. July 14, 2009 10:39 pm

    Wow, good idea. I never would have thought to paint it! It looks good. I opt for some sort of shades.

Trackbacks

  1. chairs recovered «

Leave a Reply

