Skip to content

our first visitors!

July 2, 2009

My mom and younger brother Trevor made an impromptu trip to Michigan last week to visit!  I gave them a tour of the house, and we trekked through the woods surrounding our home, finding all sorts of goodies – like deer feeds and weird bones.  We picked the first of the blackberries found on our blackberry bushes, and Trevor found frogs.

Even though the house renovations are far from finished, it was fun to give the home tour and watch their reactions to our latest and greatest major purchase!

After getting the house tour, my mom and I did what we do best: shopped.  Then, we stopped by the park to watch Jason play soccer.  (Here is where Jason wants me to note that his team beat a formerly undefeated team).

We also spent an afternoon on the Eastern shore of Lake Michigan, where I wondered if I was a traitor to my Wisconsin upbringing for thinking that the Michigan side was prettier than the Wisconsin side.  Shh.  Don’t tell anyone.

On second thought, spread the news.  If pretty beaches and cute towns are your thing, make your reservations to stay at our home in the country!  We’re eager to show her off!

We had a wonderful lunch on a rooftop patio, then headed for the beach.

The sand was surprisingly soft and beautiful.  Actually, this beach reminded me a lot of the Jersey shore.  (Also?  I totally underestimated the Michigan sun and got a wicked sunburn on my beak.  Not impressive.)

I think our beach trip was Trevor’s favorite part of his Michigan visit.  He swam for quite a while while I walked around with my camera glued to my face.  Here are my favorites:

I also managed to snap a few cute ones of my adventure buddies:

(Can anyone tell me why my husband won’t smile for pictures?)

All-in-all, we had a wonderful time, and we’re looking forward to hosting our next visitor – brother Robby – when he comes to slave away at the house visit in 2 weeks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 9:37 am

    What a fun visit! Love all of the pictures…it’s fun to watch you improve in your photography! What beach were you at in Michigan? We love going to South Haven and just had a vacation in Sheboygan, WI. We liked the Michigan side better, too. 🙂

    • jen permalink
      July 2, 2009 11:28 am

      We were actually at Grand Haven, but South Haven is only about a 35-min drive from here. We’ll definitely have to check it out!

  2. mom permalink
    July 2, 2009 4:07 pm

    We had a great time too and thanks for putting up with all my “constructive input”!

  3. July 3, 2009 8:53 am

    Being a Michigan resident, your photos look familiar!

Leave a Reply

