Skip to content

DIY Gobbi and fall leaf mobile

December 12, 2013

I’m obsessed, I know.

But once I started searching for DIY Montessori mobiles, I was pretty hooked… and after making the first one, even more so!  Maybe here is where I mention that these mobiles follow a steady progression as the baby ages, and should match infant development.  It’s a super-cool concept, I think, although my baby is growing & her needs changing faster than I can keep up here on the blog!

Here’s a basic timeline of when to use which mobiles, borrowed from Little Red Farm:

Visual mobiles
Mobiles / hanging toys designed to be touched as soon as attempts at grabbing start
  • Bell on a Ribbon (12-16 weeks)
  • Wooden ring on elastic  (12-16 weeks)
  • Primary colours mobile (12-18 weeks)
  • Wooden musical mobile (16-20 weeks)

My most recent mobile was an attempt at the Gobbi.  Most Montessori mobiles are made from beautiful, real materials, and for this one, it seems that wool or cotton embroidery floss is the most popular tool used to make the balls.  Since I simply don’t have the time to make something that intricate right now, I decided to paint styrofoam balls instead.  Admittedly, its not as beautiful as many of the wool felt mobiles I’ve seen on the Internets, but, hey, you can’t win ‘em all, right? :)
131125untitled9691.jpg

131125untitled9692.jpg

You can’t tell from this picture, but the darkest ball is about 12″ from the stick and each subsequent one is 1/2″ closer to the stick.

Elli seems to be interested, but I think her favorite by far has been the Octahedron mobile.

I was also inspired by the falling leaves in October to make a tiny mobile from a stick & leaves so that E could enjoy the beauty of the falling leaves, too.  I usually shy away from projects like this that are sure to fall apart quickly, but this one has survived a few weeks with toddler & infant, so it was worth the few minutes that it took to glue it all together!
131115untitled9662.jpg

131115untitled9665.jpg

131115untitled9668.jpg

I had to include this last picture of E covered in blankets and big sister’s pjs… I’ll give you one guess as to who is responsible for keeping baby warm! :) It’s so fun to have Elli awake for longer periods of time so that the girls can “play together” on the floor.  El has recently started grasping objects, so Lilly and I have had fun giving her different things to grasp, and I’ve recently set up the next set of mobiles… so expect more mobile posts to come because, like I said, I’m obsessed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    December 12, 2013 8:42 am

    I’m obsessed with reading your blogs so keep them coming! Can’t wait to see big sis’ mothering skills in action. :)

  2. December 12, 2013 7:48 pm

    You are awesome. And I think your version is quite lovely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers