Skip to content

Curious George and the Man

November 6, 2013

After discussing costumes at dinner one night in early October, Lilly announced that she wanted to be George.  She’s been really enjoying the Curious George stories, and has recently discovered the cartoons, thanks to our Netflix subscription and my need to nurse Elli without being jumped on. :)  She’s often heard running around the house making monkey noises and then declaring, “I’m George!”  She even climbed up on the stairs, grabbed the posts and stuck her head against them suggesting that she was a monkey in a cage.  It’s so fun to see what she’ll do next!

Thanks to our awesome friend at DB Family Photography for the above cuteness!  It’s good to have photographer friends! :)

So George it was.  In keeping with my tradition of making homemade costumes from previous years (the baby boorito and owl), I decided this one needed to be made also.  I picked up a brown sweatsuit (and promptly lost the pants… where can they be?!), and added some brown felt for ears, a tummy, and a tail.  My mom added a bit of elastic in the hood of the sweatshirt so that it would stay snug on her face.  It was relatively quick and easy and turned out quite cute, I think!

131031untitled9559.jpg

I don’t remember how we decided that Jason should be the man in the yellow hat, but once it was decided, Lilly couldn’t stop talking about it.  So I bought a $5 yellow cowboy hat from the party store, a shirt and pants from Goodwill, and a package of yellow Dylon.  This was my fist experience seriously trying to dye clothing, and I will just say: don’t look closely.  They turned out a bit blotchy – I don’t think I submerged the pants in enough water – but good enough to wear to a halloween party and trick-or-treating.

131031untitled9562.jpg

The costumes survived FOUR Halloween events (though George’s first tail got cut off after a little toilet incident and I had to sew on a new one).  By the time trick-or-treating rolled around, Lilly was SO amped up that she actually PULLED Jason from door to door.  We were trying to be hesitant and stay with the friends that were trick-or-treating with us, but it proved impossible.  Had we not made her stop for the rain, I think she would have kept going all night…

Thanks to our awesome friend at DB Family Photography for the above cuteness!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2013 10:59 pm

    Oh my word, she is so cute!

  2. Grannygoodgoose permalink
    November 19, 2013 9:18 pm

    George!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers