Skip to content

DIY Munari mobile

October 6, 2013

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before my interests in Montessori methods. Although I’m not following them perfectly, I do appreciate the simple beauty of many of the Montessori materials, and this mobile is no exception.

131002untitled9297.jpg

This mobile is the first in a series recommended for infants. The black and white designs are meant to capture the newborn’s interest and attention. (If you want to read more, this and this provide more info on the mobiles/rationale for their use.  Here are more pictures of sweet babies and their mobiles!)

131002untitled9300.jpg

We’ve set up an area for Elli to “work” alongside her big sister. For now, E will be able to lay on a blanket on the floor and look in the mirror or gaze at the mobile. (We tried a mat, but the dogs kept trying to claim it for their own, so now we’ll just lay a baby blanket down for E.)

131002untitled9307.jpg

I didn’t want to make a hole in the ceiling (that’s how most mobiles are attached) because our ceiling is textured and not easy for me to repair when the kids are grown. Instead, I picked up a plant hook from Hobby Lobby, spray painted it white, and had J hang it alongside the window (where I can hide any damage from the holes behind curtains when the kids are grown). I followed these directions to make the mobile – the most difficult part of the project was balancing the weight.  The materials needed to make the mobile are simple: dowels, fishing line, black & white paper & craft paint, a glass ball (I used an ornament), electrical tape, and glue (to hold the fishing line in place).  I only needed to buy a dowel… total cost for the project: $0.29 – SCORE! :)

131002untitled9302.jpg

Elli spends more and more time awake with each passing day, and seems to be very interested in her own reflection as well as black and white figures. We have a series of black and white figures lining the edge of the pack ‘n play that we use as a changing table, and she’s been content staring at them for up to 20 min at a time. (Lilly also loved these pictures as an infant!). I’m hopeful that she’ll eventually love this mobile as much!

131002untitled9303.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 12:29 am

    Oh I love her sweet face in these photos! She really is thriving!!!

  2. October 10, 2013 10:17 pm

    Oh my gosh, she couldn’t be any cuter! :)

  3. October 11, 2013 1:31 pm

    So cool! Love the posts about these things. I don’t know much about Montessori, but I love hearing about your experiences.

Trackbacks

  1. Octahedron mobile | home in the country
  2. DIY Gobbi and fall leaf mobile | home in the country

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers