Skip to content

MKE/MSP adventures

August 14, 2012

It’s pretty typical that I blog about blogging more and then leave you hanging. I’ve been trying to figure out blogging from my phone to make that a possibility… We’ll see. (I find it annoying to add photos using the iPhone WordPress app… I add them last and they all get added to the end. So scroll down if you’re only here for pictures of Lilly!)

This week’s adventures took place in Milwaukee and Minnesota, as we visited with family and celebrated my cousin’s impending nuptials.

Saturday we celebrated my dads birthday with boating and chocolate cake. Lil enjoyed both, and actually kept her sunglasses on for a long time – almost the entire time we were on the boat.

The rest of the week flew by (as it always does). Noteable activities include shopping, lunch at the tea room, swimming, and mama getting to shower without Lil underfoot. That last one might be the best part of visiting family. :)

We also had an amazing time meeting up with my high school friends & their kiddos at the museum. I feel so lucky to still have these girls in my life, and it is always so wonderful to catch up with every one! I wish we could have stayed longer, but naptime and a road trip to Minneapolis called.

We drove the 5 hours to my favorite city to visit with my aunt & girl cousins. As a bonus we got to visit a bunch with brother Robby who is a big boy with his first job out of college, and also has aged like 5 years since we saw him graduate in May. I guess that’s what a week of the real world will do to you. :)

Girls weekend was really fun. It’s so cool to see my little cousins becoming real adult people. I’ve had like a 10 year lead on them with lots of this growing up stuff, and it’s exciting that now we’re all adults the gap is lessening. It was also nice of them to confirm my belief that Lilly is an exceptional (or at least really expressive) baby. And theyve been nannying and babysitting more recently than I, so I’m considering them a reputable, only slightly biased source.

We made the drive back to Michigan yesterday, just in time to start a new adventure today! We’re headed to Italy with a 1 year old in tow… Should be interesting (and amazing!). I hope to blog a little as we go, and probably will be posting instagram photos (jeninthecountry – drop me a note if you’re gonna follow me!)

20120814-160348.jpg

20120814-160428.jpg

20120814-160614.jpg

20120814-160626.jpg

20120814-160648.jpg

20120814-160655.jpg

20120814-160708.jpg

20120814-160724.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 6:06 pm

    Italy? Wow, beautiful and brave with a small one but I bet you’ll be just fine :) And I love her diva glasses!

  2. August 16, 2012 6:22 am

    Gorgeous photos. looks like your time away was fab! I requested you on Instagram ( joyce 79s/ joyce schafer)

  3. August 17, 2012 2:37 pm

    OMG!!! Have a great time in Italy, luckouts! I will need your tips on traveling on a plane with a baby.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers