Skip to content

a trip to milwaukee

June 24, 2012

Two weeks ago, Lil and I hit the road (again) to visit my family in Milwaukee, in celebration of my first full week of summer break.  I’m done with work until September!

The road trip was great, and again Lil was a champ.  I stopped halfway each time to let her move around, and that really seemed to help.  She took her morning nap during the first hours of the trip, we took a break, and then she took her afternoon nap during the second portion of the trip.  Unlike our previous road trip, in which I stopped at a Walmart in the middle-of-nowhere Michigan to buy some new toys with the hope that that would stop the crying coming from the backseat.  I know that this is a good lesson to teach her — cry like crazy and mama will buy you stuff.  Sigh.  She threw the toys across the back seat less than 10 minutes down the road and continued to cry until she fell asleep.  That was not my favorite road trip ever.

120611untitled2095.jpg

Anyways, Milwaukee.  We hung out with Nana, Grandpa, and the gang all week.  The highlight was wedding dress shopping with Auntie Ashley.  Lil was quite the little dress shopping helper… when she wasn’t smooching herself in the mirror.

120611untitled2086.jpg

There’s no shortage of self-love for this one.

120611untitled2085.jpg

(I can post these because this wasn’t the dress Ashley picked…  She did say yes to a fabulous dress, which I will feature here on the blog sometime after she gets married next spring. :)  I have the honor of standing next to my little sis when she says her I dos!  And Lil is gonna be the cutest little flower girl.)

Lilly also spent some time with her great-grandparents, was adored by my friend Christina, and had a blast swimming.

120612untitled2098.jpg

120613untitled2151.jpg

120613untitled2153.jpg

It was a really great, fairly low-key week.  I’m really glad that Lilly travels so well, especially since both of our families live far away, but also because we’re planning on vacationing in Italy this year (!!!!) and I feel about 90% confident that she’ll be easy to travel with.  Most of my computer time lately has been spent planning our Italy trip… so if you’ve got any tips for travel in Italy or international travel with a little one, I’d love to hear them!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 8:21 am

    Interesting that you’re heading to Italy. My sister, her husband and 1 & 3 yr old are leaving tomorrow for their place in Pesaris (up in the mountains of NE Italy). Both kids have traveled extensively since they were born (they’ve flown/drove regularly since they were born). The older one loves to flirt with people and travels beautifully. The younger one, well, you pretty much want her to fall asleep before you hit the airport and hope that she sleeps the entire trip. Her meltdowns are epic. Grab the Benadryl.

  2. June 25, 2012 9:00 pm

    I love how you framed the bride in the mirror :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers