Skip to content

weekend in minnesota

June 15, 2012

Thanks for your sweet comments on my last post.  I went home that night and slept 12+ hours, thanks to some baby+daddy time and not having to work the next morning.  Lil also seems to have gotten over the whineys (phew!), and we’ve acquired a new (to us) car — another Camry — so that ordeal is over.

Memorial day weekend, we hit the road for brother Robby’s college graduation in Minnesota (from my alma mater!).  It was great to visit our long lost MN relatives and friends, stomp on our old stomping ground, and see the little bro accomplish so much.  Lil was a trooper, again, though these road trips get slightly more difficult as she gets older and wants to be on the MOVE!  Luckily, she is easily distractible, and luckily my mom rode to MN with us and played with her for that 5-hour segment of our 20-hour total trip.

120526untitled1486.jpg

120526untitled1517.jpg

Lilly had the opportunity to meet some new little friends, Madelyn and Ashlin, while JT and I visited with old friends over delish meals.  Man, I miss some of the great restaurants, etc, Minneapolis & St Paul have to offer!  This time, we visited Brasa, Grand Old Creamery, The Herkimer (a long-time fav of my homebrewing husband), and Burger Jones.

120528untitled1787.jpg

120528untitled1794.jpg

Robby’s graduation was a ridiculously hot Sunday afternoon.  We met on the hill for breakfast in the caf, and my future Ole loved the chicken.

120527untitled1523.jpg

After lunch, we took family pictures, thanks to my tripod & camera timer.

120527untitled1541.jpg

120527untitled1556.jpg

120527untitled1574.jpg

We also walked the campus, checking out the new science center & some of the other changes on campus that have occurred in the past 10 (!!!??!!!!) years since I graduated.  (!!!!!???????!??!)

There’s something really magical about college campuses, and St Olaf is no exception.  So many good memories!  So many friendships forged!  So many things learned!

My brother said he was a little sad that the best years of his life were behind him.  I really loved college.  But I’m just not sure those were the best years… I think that this past year has been amazing – I have a supportive and hilarious partner, my baby girl is just incredible, I love my job, the dogs are sweet, and the house is fine.  Maybe these are my best years?  What do you think?  What was your best year(s)?

120527untitled1585.jpg

The temps during the graduation topped 90 degrees, and there was no shade to be found for the spectators (or the graduates, for that matter).  Jason took Lilly to find shade, and eventually AC and ice cream, which he “thoughtfully” sent me pictures of while I sweated every last ounce of water out of my body waiting for Robby’s name to be read.

120527untitled1656.jpg

120527untitled1683.jpg

120527untitled1688.jpg

I call this one “Where’s Waldo?” — brother Robby is totally in there, can you find him?  If you look long enough, the entire picture looks fake.

After the graduation, we celebrated Robby’s graduation and my grandpa’s birthday at my aunt and uncle’s house.  Lilly made friends with my aunt and her aunt, swam in the pool, and crawled all over the place.  She’s really on the move these days.

120527untitled1750.jpg

120527untitled1754.jpg

120527untitled1758.jpg

120527untitled1741.jpg

And, of course, no trip to Minneapolis is complete without a picture in front of the cherry on a spoon statue (and various other sculptures at the sculpture garden).

120528untitled1809.jpg

120528untitled1811.jpg

120528untitled1849.jpg

120528untitled1855.jpg

120528untitled1858.jpg

120528untitled1815.jpg

120528untitled1819.jpg

120528untitled1824.jpg

120528untitled1832.jpg

As much as we love our home, friends, jobs, and life in Michigan, we always feel sentimental about our time in Minneapolis.  We loved living there, and if we could, we’d pick up our home, friends, and jobs in MI and magically transport them all to the mini apple.

Thanks to my aunt and uncle for their hospitality over the weekend.  Thanks to Lilly for going along with pretty much everything we wanted to do without complaint.  Thanks to my mom for entertaining her while Jason drove and I graded papers.  Thanks to brother Robby for graduating so we had an excuse to make the trip!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 3:08 am

    Great trip – ok …… Why is there a huge cherry on a ginormous spoon? Curious minds need to know!!!!

  2. June 15, 2012 8:31 am

    Your family looks so young! And why is there a huge cherry on a huge spoon? :)

  3. June 15, 2012 10:54 pm

    I’m not sure of the “why” behind the spoon — I guess creating oversized bits of everyday things was this particular artist’s style. More here: http://garden.walkerart.org/artwork.wac

  4. Little J permalink
    June 15, 2012 11:11 pm

    oh man i am totally with you, if i could move my life back to MN that would be a dream come true!!! :) Maybe we can all do it together!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers