Skip to content

Easter

May 2, 2012

For those of you that remember when this blog featured things other than a gazillion pictures of my kid, I present to you today: a homemade bunny Easter basket. (don’t worry, there are also a gazillion pictures of my kid in this post.)
1205019moLilly1360.jpg
(only a month late)

1204289moLilly1348.jpg

1205019moLilly1359.jpg

I’ve been pinning like crazy, and actually had a minute to stitch up a little something special for my girl’s first Easter.  The original idea came from here, but I followed the basket tutorial here.  The pink fabric is actually linen that I recycled from an old dress my SIL no longer wore (yay for upcycling!).  I first embroidered the bunny face on the linen, then followed the basket tutorial, with the exception that I started with a 15″ square of each fabric instead of the patchwork suggested in the basket tutorial.  I managed to use only supplied I already had on hand, but wish I would have used stiffer batting/interfacing in the basket… it’s a little flimsy.

1205019moLilly1357.jpg

We filled the basket with two books and a bath sponge toy, and also gifted the baby a Melissa & Doug picnic basket.  I’m a big fan of well-made battery less toys, and the Melissa & Doug brand seems to frequently satisfy those requirements.

120408easter847.jpg

In other crafting news, I also stitched up a little Easter dress and headband for my little one.  I used this tutorial.  It’s the second peasant dress I’ve made for Lil (she wore a long-sleeved version for Valentine’s day), and it’s really quick and easy.  Perfect for this mama, who recently finds herself with few moments alone to sew.

Our Easter was low-key.  We had just returned from visiting Jason’s family in Philly, and Lil and I were getting over colds and pinkeye, so we decided to lay low for the weekend.  We went to church, where Lil waved at other members of the congregation. (the week before, she waited until we were up front for communion and then leaned over me to wave at everyone.  crack me up!)  And then we hung out at home for the rest of the afternoon, enjoying the sunshine and relatively warm temperatures.  Jason made a beer can chicken on the grill.

(and now for entirely too many photos of my baby)

120408easter827.jpg

120408easter833.jpg

(love this picture of her smiling at her daddy)

120408easter831.jpg

(of course I needed to include the eating things photo)

120408easter819.jpg

120408easter800.jpg

(I love this little face.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 9:37 am

    She’s such a doll! :) Your Easter basket is cute too.

  2. May 2, 2012 2:39 pm

    Is it inappropriate of me to say that I want to nibble on your baby’s face because it is just toooooo cute? That last picture of the smooshy face makes my momma heart smile :)

  3. Erin @ DomesticAdventure.com permalink
    May 2, 2012 5:06 pm

    Wow! That is soooo adorable (both Lilly and the basket). Seriously, LOVE them both! Hope you are doing well, Jen! xoxo

  4. theperryfamily permalink
    May 2, 2012 10:23 pm

    Again, beautful photos, that little girl is so lucky to have such beautiful photos to document her life!

  5. May 3, 2012 7:54 pm

    Aww you can never have to many picture of your cute baby girl on here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers