Skip to content

pregnancy: week 38

June 20, 2011

Did I trick you into thinking I had a baby last week by not posting?  Sorry.  I was doing unbloggable things, like wiping down every surface in the house, and eating copious amounts of chocolate ice cream.

This week started on a not-as-awesome note, as I appear to be getting super-impatient and angry (at my husband, mostly) for no reason whatsoever.  I’m blaming hormones for this one, and hoping I can self-regulate for a few more weeks.  It’s kind of awful; I haven’t really been emotional or angry the entire pregnancy until now, but I seem to have suddenly lost control of my ability to handle things.  I told Jason that as much as this whole labor-delivery-having-a-human-dependent-on-me-24/7 is going to be a difficult transition for me, dealing with crazy pre- and postpartum hormones & moods is really not going to be easy for him…  Luckily, he’s pretty good at knowing when I’m really, actually upset about something and knowing when I just have a case of the hormonal, not-as-comfortable-in-my-constantly-stretching-skin crabbies, and he’s pretty good at dealing with either.

{this is my holy-cow-can-you-believe-how-big-this-belly-is face}

My parents & brother Trevor came to Jen’s work camp for the weekend, and quickly got to work weeding, mulching, destroying overgrown bushes, mowing the lawn, and planting bushes that mama bear brought from her garden.  Thank goodness, too, because as much as I was telling myself that it’s stupid to get stressed out about the garden, I was totally stressing about it in a wake-up-in-the-middle-of-the-night-angry-about-the-grass-seed-that-wasn’t-taking-in-the-front-yard kind of way.  For whatever reason (nesting? hormones?), I had decided, with a huge sense of urgency that the yard needed to be taken care of right. this. second.  So thanks, mama bear, poppa bear, and Trevor bear for swooping in to save the day!

I spent the rest of week 38 cleaning, organizing, and wiping down all available surfaces inside the house.  If you had stopped by, you’d have found me in old pj bottoms and one of J’s bright orange XL t-shirts, on my hands and knees with a bucket of water & Mrs Meyer’s All-Purpose Cleaner (my new fav, BTW), furiously scrubbing at walls, woodwork, and floors.  So, let’s just say: thanks for not coming over, because I was kind of a hot mess.

If Rico’s not coming anytime soon (I swear, I’m still not sure I’m even having Braxton-Hicks contractions), I intend to spend this week organizing & cleaning the less desirable portions of our home: the basement & garages.  To be honest, I’m content to let Rico chill in there as long as he needs to (ahem – within reason, please, Rico).  I’m really only slightly uncomfortable, and if he needs a few more weeks of leeching off his mama bear before making a dramatic entrance into the world, then that’s fine with me.  After all, if this kid is anything like his mom, he is NOT to be rushed.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 10:47 am

    Aunt Tami says you have a ways to go if you want to look like she did :)

  2. June 20, 2011 1:35 pm

    You look AHmazing, but I still giggled at your shocked face! I’m debating sending this entry to my husband, because he’s also dealing with a super crabby pissed pregnant lady who shall remain nameless.

  3. June 20, 2011 2:10 pm

    You look fabulous! I’m sorry I haven’t commented much lately, but I’ve definitely been reading! I find the most time to check my Google Reader (on my phone) when I’m feeding Logan, and your blog is a must-read! Having a newborn (but she’s already nine and a half weeks!) takes so much time, but it’s sooo much fun too! I can’t wait to meet (through your blog :)) your sweet baby!

  4. June 20, 2011 3:09 pm

    I can SO relate to how you feel right now, and I am still 8 weeks away from d-day. I find myself obsessing over cleaning and organizing things in the house and just yesterday was looking up local landscapers to come and finish working on my yard because it is taking too long for my husband to get around to it. The impatience and irrationality is amazing!! The new baby isn’t going to care about how the lawn looks, but I’m totally consumed by it! So, I guess what I’m saying is that you are not crazy and you are definitely not alone! It was actually a huge relief reading your post this afternoon because it made me feel a little less crazy knowing that it’s not just me!

  5. June 20, 2011 3:35 pm

    So glad to hear I’m not the only angry & obsessive pregnant lady out there! :) It’s just so strange that it all kicked in this week – usually I’m pretty even-keeled! Gah. Let’s hope it’s over soon!

  6. Debbie permalink
    June 20, 2011 4:18 pm

    Tell Jason “his Mother didn’t raise him that way”..
    You’re crazy nesting (busily not really crazy) though. Maybe I should be looking for a call in days, not weeks. The 5th is still exciting! Can’t wait!

  7. June 20, 2011 4:49 pm

    You are so cute! That first pic is priceless! Don’t worry, the nesting will end soon but the crankiness may take a while… ;)

  8. June 20, 2011 11:10 pm

    Love that perfectly round belly of yours! (Love you, too btw). You already know I can’t wait!

  9. Elizabeth permalink
    June 21, 2011 8:14 am

    Oh my goodness, I could not love you any more, JPR. I am crazy mean bride, so perhaps we need to bring back our black list? I could think of some prime candidates. Tons of well wishes to you in this home stretch – xx!

  10. Amanda Moloney Johns permalink
    June 22, 2011 12:23 pm

    Hey Jen!

    You are so close!! I can’t wait to meet Rico. And PS, you are a super-cute preggo! I also love your bird mobile. I would love to make one but a) I’m not that talented, b) I don’t know how to use my sewing maching, c) but even if I could I’m not that talented and d) I think my dogs would use the birds as chew toys
    I hope you are doing well! We are anxious for Rico’s arrival

  11. June 25, 2011 5:14 pm

    You continue to look amazing!

    Impressed that you are keeping up the blogging along with all the nesting, cleaning and creating cute things for the nursery.

    Do you ever stop? I hope so – enjoy the rest while you can!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers