Skip to content

yellow & white chevron chair

May 18, 2011

We decided that it’d be nice to have some seating in the nursery… but I didn’t want to spend a ton of cash (love you Pottery Barn rockers, but you are WAY out of my budget) and I didn’t think that a traditional glider-type chair would fit with the mid-century dresser we’ve got in the room.  So when I saw this little mid-century rocker on sale at Urban Outfitters, I hemmed and hawed for a week until Jason told me to just. buy. it. already.

Ours is exactly like the one above, but came with a maroon cover (and was about $100 cheaper – I think the maroon was headed out).  We’re pretty pleased with the quality of the chair for the price, and it seems reasonably comfortable for the short bits of time J or I have spent sitting in it.

The maroon didn’t really match what we were going for in the nursery, though, so I put my cushion recovering skillz to work, and recovered the chair in a yellow chevron print.

It took a few hours, but I think the chair looks so much more fun with this new print and I’m really pleased with how it all turned out!  I even tried my hand at inserting a zipper in each of the covers so that they’ll be easy to remove & wash once Rico gets here and dirties them up.  (Truthfully, I’m a little sad about the potential for getting baby spit up on this thing, but it comes with the territory, right? Maybe I can scotch-guard the fabric for a little extra protection?)

Sewing with zippers is definitely not as hard as I thought it would be, and I think I’m hooked – these zipper closures look much cleaner & neater than the velcro closures I put on the back of the cushion covers that I made for the futon on the porch.

In fact, I became so smitten with zipper closures during this process that I inserted one into the elephant throw pillow that I made for the rocking chair (I used this tutorial, and it took about 20 minutes).

One more picture, for good measure:

(I’m still thinking about recovering the lampshade because it’s a weird shiny material.  That, and we’ll be hanging some white-framed DIY artwork above the chair sometime soon, which I’m hoping will lighten up the corner a bit.  And I never posted about the curtains I made, but there they are, in all their blackout cloth-lined glory.)

And, for those of you that are curious about what we’ve got going on on the other side of the room:

We’ve got a sweet Jenny Lind crib (thanks to baby’s grammy & poppy!), which will be covered in yellow sheets with white polka dots once I get around to washing them (maybe next week?  How soon is too soon to wash baby clothes/sheets/towels/etc?).  You can see a preview of the zigzag quilt that I’m making hanging over the side of the crib – the quilt will eventually be hung over the crib.

And we’re trying to figure out what to do about the crib skirt… I’m going to make a little something, but I don’t know what.  I’ve still got 3 yards of yellow chevron material left from the chair, but between the quilt & the chair, I’m wondering if that’s too many zig zags in one room?  Otherwise, a plain white crib skirt with some sort of border around the bottom might be nice (Jason suggested ordering more elephant silhouette fabric & sewing a row of elephants around the bottom, but is that too many elephant silhouettes in a room that’s not meant to be elephant-themed?).  Your design thoughts/suggestions are welcome! :)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 9:07 am

    OhmygoshthisissocuteIlovetheentireroom. Say that 10 times fast. I just did.

    I am so scared to try a zipper. You make everything look so simple! But I know it’s just cause you are awesome. I’m totally checking out the tutorial you linked to.

    The chair is fabulous. Honestly! It looks professional. Did you take apart the old cover to get sizes? Just curious.

    And, don’t get me started on those curtains or the Jenny Lind crib. Fab.

    • May 18, 2011 9:30 am

      Thanks, Kim!

      I tend to leave out the expletives in the blog posts, maybe that’s what makes you think it was simple? :) Actually, this project (surprisingly) didn’t require too much frustration…

      I left the old cushion covers intact, but measured each piece of the cover & used those measurements when cutting my own cover. I figure if I ever go on a maroon kick, I can just get the original cushion covers back out! If you don’t have cushion covers (I didn’t for the ikea futon on our porch), I think the easiest way to figure out your measurements is to measure each side of the cushion & add an inch — then, when you sew, you can use a 1/2″ seam allowance & the cushions end up snug. I’m not an expert, though, so you might want to google that before trying it! :)

  2. mom permalink
    May 18, 2011 10:14 am

    How about giraffes on the bedskirt instead?

  3. May 18, 2011 11:37 am

    I’m loving all of that! I need to learn to sew, again. The last time I used a machine I was in the 7th grade. You really spruced up that chair’s fabric, gorgeous, and it looks professionally done with the zippers and clean lines….I hope you can avoid the spit up too. ;)

    What if the bed skirt had some green in it to balance out? I think if the skirt was shortened just a tad so it just hovers above the ground with some fabric along the bottom as an easy addition would look great!

    • May 18, 2011 11:45 am

      I’ve been thinking about just putting some of the extra fabric from the curtains as a stripe along the bottom – the only problem with that is that the curtain background is actually sort of an off-white/oatmeal color & I don’t think it looks right if I make the rest of the crib skirt white… But I like where you’re going with this. Maybe I should just pick up a thick green ribbon & sew that around the bottom?

      • mom permalink
        May 20, 2011 2:02 am

        Why not make the whole bedskirt out of the curtain material? It does not have to reach the floor (doesn’t the height on the mattress change anyway? 12″ bedskirt should be enough.

      • May 20, 2011 2:58 pm

        I don’t have that much curtain material left over…

  4. May 18, 2011 2:23 pm

    OMG! How awesome is that chair??? You did a great job! The whole room looks great! I love that you didn’t stick with a theme and did colors as the theme. It looks fresh and cozy.

  5. May 19, 2011 8:02 am

    The chair came out amazing! Your skillz are so good. And you know I love that elephant fabric ;-) Baby in The Country is going to love that room!

  6. May 19, 2011 9:15 am

    I love everything. The room looks so bright and fresh. I’m sending your link to my daughter.

  7. May 20, 2011 3:10 pm

    Ahh – the room looks great!! You did an amazing job recovering the chair – and added zippers! You a re so talented – they look professional!! The elephant pillow looks darling – and I agree for sure another fabric on the lamp shade will look much better!

    The crib looks cute, good taste chica!! :) For the skirt – maybe a small print fabric instead or white skirt w/yellow border on the bottom?

    I know what you mean about a non theme room!! I’m loving giraffes for our sons nursery BUT – it wont be the overall theme, just happen to be in the room!

    Great work, I’ve been waiting for this chair post! :)

    • May 20, 2011 5:01 pm

      Thanks for the nice words! And thanks for encouraging me to give it a shot in the first place!

      I like your skirt suggestion… I’ve been leaning towards white with some sort of something at the bottom, just in case I can’t find yellow material to match the yellow sheets we’ve already gotten… I’m thinking I might finish the quilt & hang it above the crib before deciding what to do about the skirt.

  8. May 20, 2011 4:39 pm

    I love all of it! The chair looks amazing!

  9. May 27, 2011 10:34 am

    I love this chair, Jen! What a fabulous idea!

  10. Kirsten permalink
    June 9, 2012 10:37 am

    I’m going to be recovering a chair and I am considering this fabric. How well has it held up?

    • June 12, 2012 3:27 pm

      It’s held up really nicely — I’ve washed it (using cold water!) in the machine a few times and it still looks great. Our chair has really only gotten moderate use in the past year, and you can’t tell it’s been used at all. I’m really happy with how it still looks! Will you share your finished project? I’d love to see what it looks like!

Trackbacks

  1. book slings «
  2. baby quilts! «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers