Skip to content

casserole carrier

April 19, 2011

Today: another installation of look what I made!  Again, featuring an idea that I took from elsewhere (here and here).

It’s a casserole carrier, and, in fact, I made two.  I have since decided that a) I am in love with my sewing machine and b) it’s a total time-saver (& maybe even easier) to make things in twos.  I think this is mostly because I have all of my needed supplies out, but also because when I inevitably fail to follow instructions, I can fix the first project & remember to do it right on the second project.

The above casserole dish holder is for one of my shower hostesses – she cooks a ton & likes to share (in fact, her baby present to us is homecooked meals after Rico shows up!), so I thought it would be a fun (and possibly practical) gift.  The outer fabric is Bite Me by Michael Miller.  The inner fabric is just some orange cotton that I had in my stash (don’t I sound like a serious sew-er (seamstress?) when I say, “oh yes, I just had it in my stash…“?).

I made a second casserole dish for my BFF, who is going to get married in a little over 3 months (can’t wait!), as a little wedding shower gift.  I thought it was a sweet little homemade dealie that went nicely with the massive amount of pyrex that I had shipped to her house.  (As a sidenote: we use our pyrex all. the. time. and I’m hoping that she’ll find it just as useful!)

My BFF loves blue, so I decided to use Metro Market Pears by Ann Kelle (I love her children’s prints, too!) on the outside & the same orange cotton from my stash (I am so going pro on this sewing gig) for the inside.

I’ve been ordering most of my fabric from fabric.com (in fact, I’m expecting a delivery from them this afternoon!).  I am really pleased with the fabric & customer service… especially since I haven’t always been as thrilled with the selection/pricing of fabrics at some of my local fabric stores (although, I do sometimes feel a little guilty for not supporting the local guy).

Alright.  Enough babbling from here today!  What have you been sewing lately?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 2:06 pm

    Jen, that is so freaking cool!!! I just love this idea, and love seeing homemade items :)

  2. Lisa permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:12 pm

    Speaking of casseroles, you may have already been given this advice but make and freeze as much food as you can before you have the baby. Breads (zucchini/banana), soups, casseroles, spaghetti sauce, etc. The last thing anybody will want to do is cook!

  3. April 19, 2011 2:42 pm

    Love it!! This is so cute…..what a perfect housewife gift! I am a non-sewer, but I did make this cute little birdhouse display this weekend: http://mrscummingsrx.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/birdie-nest-centerpiece/

    Your blog is great…..love the dogs :)

  4. April 19, 2011 3:03 pm

    These are flipping awesome! How long did they take you?

    I think we were meant to be friends. I have this exact tutorial pinned and all the materials to make 2 of them!!! This was going to be my next project after the last quilt. I’ve been trying the whole ‘make two’ thing this year. I was hoping it would help me start Christmas presents early. But, really, I just get impatient and give people them early. Doesn’t really help the gift-hoarding idea. ;)

    And I’m totally stealing that idea for a shower gift. I was going to save it for Christmas. As-if. My Maid of Honor’s shower is in June. I’m going to take your lead for this with Pyrex! (I love mine, too.)

    And I’ve almost stopped buying fabric in person. It’s always so darn busy and inconvenient. Online is better. There is one local shop that sells Moda that I like to check out, otherwise, I’ve sworn off in-person stores.

    • May 2, 2011 10:06 am

      I think they probably took about 3-4 hours total? I broke it up over a few nights & watched tv while I worked, so you could probably make your own much faster if you wanted to…

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    April 19, 2011 4:07 pm

    I am the recipient of the pear one and I LOVE IT. It’s so fun! I need to come up with an excuse to bake a casserole and carry it somewhere just so I can use it. My sisters visited last weekend and I proudly showed it off. They, like me, are uber impressed with your mad skillz. We kept remarking on how jealous we are of your super awesome life.

    Thanks so much, BFF! Hugs to you, J and Rico! (I realize the last part is the equivalent of hug-your-belly; it’s a charge I place on the dogs or Jason.)

    • May 2, 2011 10:00 am

      Glad you love it! I can’t wait to see you in a few weeks!!!

  6. GGG permalink
    April 20, 2011 10:51 am

    That is so cool! I could use one if you have any time before next Christmas:) If you go into business, I’d like to buy four or five for gifts:)

  7. Ash permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:02 pm

    Love it! I just found your site today by googling “dresser tv stand”, so glad I came across it! I, too, love fabric.com, I just haven’t ordered anything from them yet… Good to hear that they have great customer service and that you are happy with them! Great site, I’ll be ‘tuning in’ often! :)

    • May 2, 2011 9:59 am

      Thanks for the sweet compliment, Ash! You should def try out fabric.com next time you need something!

  8. April 20, 2011 11:08 pm

    Too cute…I wish there were more potlucks going on around here, I could use one too!

  9. April 23, 2011 7:27 am

    Wow! Those came out great, Jen! And I agree about making things in twos; definitely easier. I love the fabric you chose (the first one is the same as my sister used in her nursery!). I am a huge Fabric.com fan (I think we out-in-the-country girls need it more than others). But I agree about the fast shipping and great customer service. Plus, it seems like they are always having a sale or have good discount codes!

  10. Kate permalink
    April 28, 2011 5:42 pm

    Wow, you are a great seamstress! I hope I get that good one day. Rico is lucky to have a crafty mommy. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers